Image Upload

File size must be less than 500kb

File types (jpg, png, gif)


New Gannawarra Mayor

New Gannawarra Mayor

New Councillor to Take Over Gannawarra Shire's Top Job

Councillor Lorraine Learmonth has become the new Gannawarra Shire Mayor, following a Special Council Meeting this morning in Kerang.

Ms Learmonth will serve in the role for one year, after former Mayor Brian Gibson stepped down after two years in the role.

In a statement released by the Gannawarra Shire Council, Learmonth has thanked the other Councillors for their support.

Article continues below

“I look forward to continuing working with my fellow Councillors, Council staff and the community over the next 12 months to make our Shire a great place to live, work and play,” Learmonth said.

“As Mayor I will advocate for farmers, small businesses and support for those struggling as well as more mental health options in our area. I will also advocate for more train services from Swan Hill and Bendigo to improve connectivity in the area.”

Mayor Learmonth was first elected to Council in 2012 and represents the Yarran Ward.

Councillor Charlie Gillingham was elected Deputy Mayor, replacing Learmonth in her previous role.

The Latest

Join Us